You are currently viewing 5 Different Types of Teeth

5 Different Types of Teeth

Throughout your lifetime, you will grow two different sets of teeth. The primary teeth, often known as baby teeth which developed in children, and a permanent teeth.

Sometimes we take our teeth for granted, although they are essential to good health. Teeth enable us to speak properly, chew and break-down food. They also give us our unique and beautiful smiles. Depending on whether or not your wisdom teeth have been extracted, most individuals have 20 primary teeth and has between 28 and 32 primary teeth. Nevertheless, not all teeth are same. There are 5 different types of teeth, and each has a distinct function.

Different Types of Teeth

Each individuals has the following types of teeth:

1. Incisors (Anterior Teeth)

Typically, they are the primary teeth to develop, with the main incisors appearing at six months of age. Eventually, between the ages of six and eight, a permanent set of incisors will grow in their place.

Incisors are the teeth at the front of the mouth that are most apparent when a person smiles. They chop food into smaller pieces by biting into it. They are sharp and have a thin, flat edge. They are also known as front teeth.

2. Canines

Canines are those teeth that resembles a fang. They are a sharp, pointed teeth next to the incisors. They are also known as cuspids or eyeteeth by dentists. Canines are the longest teeth, and they are used to shred food.

Children and adults grow four canines and, in most cases, children get their first permanent canines between the ages of 9 and 12. The lower canines often grow before the upper canines.

3. Premolars (Bicuspids)

Premolars teeth, also known as bicuspids, are larger than the incisors and canines. Premolars, are larger than the incisors and canines. They usually grows as a permanent teeth between the ages of 10 and 12. Premolars have several ridges that aid in chewing and grinding food. There are eight premolars in adults. Next to the canines come the first and second premolars, which are molars

4. Molars (Deciduous Molars)

The main functions of the molars, is to chew and breakdown food. They are replaced by eight permanent premolars, four on the upper jaw and four on the lower jaw. The permanent molars grow behind the primary molars as opposed to replacing them. These teeth typically emerge between 12 and 15 months of age. The first molars normally emerge at the age of six, prior to the loss of the main molars. The growth of the second molars typically occurs between the ages of 11 and 13.

5. Third Molars (Wisdom Tooth)

The third molars are the final teeth to mature and generally the first permanent teeth to fall out. These teeth are generally referred to as wisdom teeth. The eruption of the third molars typically occurs between the ages of 18 and 20; however, some individuals never acquire third molars. These teeth often cause overcrowding, causing the majority of patients to have them extracted.

Schedule A Consultation

From routine check-ups to urgent care, Gables iSmile and Miami iSmile offers convenient and affordable care to all who are living in Florida. Find high-quality, accessible dental services when you need them most. Gables iSmile and Miami iSmile offers a varied range of dental treatments, whether you want to upkeep your dental health or receive immediate, same-day dental emergency attention, you’ll find it at one of our friendly and convenient dental spa in Miami and Coral Gables, FL. Receive dental care that is specialized, personalized and highly affordable to keep you smiling for longer. We offer services for everyone, catering to all ages, needs and smiles.

Miami iSmile

Lauderdale iSmile